Plants for the People

Breakout Discussion

21-22 February, 2005
Washington, D.C.

Organized by the
National Biological Information Infrastructure,
Smithsonian Institution,
Discover Life

Rhamnus frangula, Glossy Buckthorn
Rhamnus frangula
Illustration by Cheryl Reese, 2004
Last updated: 19 February, 2005


Given our success at having multiple institutions and individuals work together to put informations about ants rapidly on-line, a group of us have decided to start a large project to do the same for plants. Our minimum 1-year goal is to put checklists and images on Discover Life for 10,000 species of North American wildflowers and woody plants.

Our discussion will address how best to do this. It will also address how much more should we do in the next year?


For technical details and links to the checklists, images, guides, and maps please see

Under revision, pending response

Name Institution E-mailPhone ExpertiseReferred by Confirmed
Sandy Andelman National Center for Ecological Analysis & Synthesis andelman@nceas.ucsb.edu805-892-2505

Mary Ball Carson Newman College mball@cn.edu865-471-3254

Tom Garnett Smithsonian Institution GarnettT@si.edu202-633-2238

Ian Giddy New York University ian.giddy@nyu.edu212-998-0426

Steve Hubbell University of Georgia shubbell@plantbio.uga.edu706-583-0393

Patricia Koleff CONABIO pkoleff@xolo.conabio.gob.mx525-55-528-9101

Chris Lyal Natural History Museum, London

Chuck Lydeard National Science Foundation clydeard@nsf.gov703-292-7142

Erick Mata Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad, Costa Rica

Bob Magill Missouri Botanical Garden magill@mobot.org314-577-5161

Laura Meyerson Heinz Center meyerson@heinzctr.org202-737-6307

Tom Moritz American Museum of Natural History tmoritz@amnh.org212-769-5417

Neil Patterson Neil Patterson Productions napatterson@mindspring.com919-933-1195

John Pickering University of Georgia pick@discoverlife.org706-542-1115

Pat Raven Missouri Botanical Garden pat.raven@mobot.org314-577-9595

Lucy Rogo BioNET International l.rogo@bionet-intl.org571-239-8798

Gary Rosenberg Academy of Natural Sciences, Philadelphia rosenberg@acnatsci.org215-299-1033

Rusty Russell Smithsonian Institution russellr@si.edu202-633-0943

Annie Simpson USGS-NBII asimpson@usgs.gov703-648-4281

Jorge Soberon CONABIO jsoberon@xolo.conabio.gob.mx525-55-528-9101

Mike Soukup US National Park Service Mike_Soukup@nps.gov202-208-3884

Barbara Thiers New York Botanical Garden bthiers@nybg.org718-817-8622

Gayle Tonkovich Field Museum gtonkovich@fmnh.org312-665-7429

Melissa Tulig New York Botanical Garden mtulig@nybg.org718-817-8740

Heike Vibrans Colegio de Postgraduados en Ciencias Agricolas Museum heike@colpos.mx52 (595) 95 20 200 ext 1335 Wildflowers; Mexico

Matt von Konrat Field Museum mvonkonrat@fieldmuseum.org312-665-7864 Liverworts; World

Peter White North Carolina Botanical Garden pswhite@unc.edu919-962-6939

George Yatskievych Missouri Botanical Garden george.yatskievych@mobot.org314-577-9522

Kay Yatskievych Missouri Botanical Garden kay.yatskievych@mobot.org314-577-9524 Wildflowers; Indiana, USA

Discover Life | Plants | IDnature guides | Global Mapper | How to study & monitor life on Earth | Plants for the People